“you should be more open to who you pick”


Today, I was criticized by a guy on Plenty of Fish because I have a set of beliefs that excludes him from being a potential match for me.

I feel kind of bad for this guy.  He genuinely has no idea what to believe.  He’s studied Islam, Judaism, and Christianity, and believes there’s a god but doesn’t know his name yet….

I am SO glad I know the name of my God.  I am so glad I know God.  It makes me want to know Him more.

That being said, the reason for this post….

I’ve been feeling lately like I’m too picky.  Like maybe if I would just lower my standards a little bit, I would find a guy.  This guy has reminded me that I don’t want to lower my standards at the expense of ignoring the words of the Bible.

2 Cor. 6:14 says:  Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?

The Bible is very clear about my having a relationship with someone who does not know the Lord.  This guy is seeking, but I’m not interested in missionary dating.  My husband will have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, and if I don’t find a man with whom I’m compatible on that level as well as personality and interests, I’d rather be single until the day I die.  And I am recommitting myself to that, right now.

So thank you, random stranger, for challenging me to answer for myself why I will not entertain the idea of dating an unbeliever.

Leave a Reply

