Some decisions made.


What!?  Two blog posts in 24 hours?!  AMAZING!!  haha.

Anyway….

I was bouncing around Twitter on my phone last night before I went to bed.  While doing so, I found this article posted by a girl I was friends with in high school.  It’s called, “Let God Write Your Love Story.”

I found it refreshing, because it was taken from the perspective that singleness is not a curse, but yet at the same time it wasn’t so brazen as to declare that one’s time of singleness should be referred to as a gift.  If it’s a gift, I want the receipt and I’ll return it, thanks.  No, this article clearly lines out how big of a deal some of the things that happen to us as singles can be.  It talks about how married people are not the only ones who matter.  FINALLY!

This seems unbalanced to me. Married people are not the only ones deserving of life guidance [the author states, having commented on the decided lack of books on singleness in any Christian book store]; singles are making quality decisions that determine the direction of their life, and not just one decision, but many: Who are you going to befriend? What school will you go to? How are you going to pay for it? What job are you going to pursue? Where will you live and travel? What church will you invest into?

Not to mention decisions like — how will you save your money?  Where will you invest it?  What will you do with it?  Will you save it?  Or spend it as though it doesn’t matter because there’s no one to run your purchases past.  These things came up in my mind while I was reading the article last night, especially since I’ve recently created a budget that I feel I can actually stick to, and it’s working, but I have been feeling like I could use some Biblical guidance as far as what God expects of me and my money (beyond the “tithe 10%”).  I felt very “single,” I guess you could say this morning in church when our Pastor explained a new Bible Study designed for young families on how to manage your finances the way they Bible tells us to.  Doesn’t this sound perfect for me?  That’s what I thought to myself… but there’s a hitch.  It’s for young families.  It’s placed on the same night as kids’ clubs so that families can drop their kids off and be supervised while they go do the study.  I’m not welcome.  Why not?  Because my family is presently myself and my beautiful dog.  I joked with the friend sitting beside me that I could bring a stuffed dinosaur and drop it off at kids’ clubs so that I could attend… but even if I made a stink at this point, it’d just be awkward to go when everyone else is married and looking from that angle.

Anyway, I’ve gotten a bit off topic.

The point that I want to make is that I’m not sitting around waiting “for love to find me.”  I don’t want to waste my time like that.  I’d rather take up new hobbies; work out; spend time investing in my friends; grow into a deep, healthy relationship with my Saviour; travel — all over the place!  After all, I don’t have to run my purchases by anyone, and I don’t have to worry about anyone else not wanting to go where I want to go (pretty much everywhere… not gonna lie).  A single girl’s “bucket list” if you will [credit to Bren for coming up with that ;)].

I’m not going to renew any of my dating site subscriptions as they expire.  And I’m not going to check the matches via email when they come in anymore.  If someone makes contact with me, I’ll respond, but I’m not going to sit and pine.  I’m tired of it, it isn’t constructive… in fact, it’s rather destructive.

I imagine this probably sounds passive to some of you, but if I’m meant to be in a relationship… it will happen.  God’s in control, He knows what He’s doing, and I’m tired of trying to force it.

The end.

6 thoughts on “Some decisions made.

  1. I say join that finance class anyways~..
    and ladies..HEAR ME HEAR ME when I say…married life is excruciating.
    Rearing children….is…an agonizing death.
    ( A house full of sinners stumbling all over each other..constantly……without reprive..)
    Singles long to be married and the married long to be single~
    The barren long to bear fruit and the fruitful wish they could bring their harvest back to the orchard…

    Is singleness a gift??..Is marriage a gift?
    it is ALL a gift~
    How ,you ask??
    Because you are breathing.
    And I am breathing.
    And God wants us to take whatever situation we find ourselves in and see it for what it is..A gift from Him, life.
    An opportunity to enjoy His will~an opportunity to prove HIM a faithful, gracious and empowering companion, whether we invest our lives in others or in our spouses~
    I know you desire to be married, I respect that wholeheartedly~As you let God write your love story, you’ll soon realized…..He IS your love story, regardless who or who may not come along~
    I’ve gotta give you that book this Thursday Laur~..I think now is the perfect time~ ox

    1. Let me have it! Cuz this blog is getting an overhaul. Gone is the griping about being single. In can come being thankful for everything I have, along with the progress on the bucket list I’m presently writing.

      And don’t get me wrong, I know that all life is a gift from God, what I mean is that singleness is not a gift in that patronizing “you should be glad you’re not married yet” kind of way. It’s hard to explain. But at any rate, yes, bring on the book! I can’t wait to read it! I can’t wait to experience it. PLUS, “read more” is on my bucket list. lol.

  2. ooooooooooooh..great article..Luv her perspective..especially this line..

    ”but the bigger, greater story is open to everyone, no matter what stage of life they are in”…….

    That speaks to all of us~…

    1. Sure does! It was a great read. And it inspired the giving up of pining and just loving the life I have now. Not waiting for it to be different. It may never be different. Who cares? I don’t want to care. This life is good. As you said, breathing is a gift. I don’t want to waste it waiting. So I won’t. Stay tuned for my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

