One Thousand Gifts


I’ve been slacking.  Hardcore slackage going on over here.  But I handed out the address to this barely used blog to a new friend today, and so I thought it was about time to put to paper (erm… sort of) some of my recent thoughts.

I’ve been reading a book given to me by a friend in October.  I know.. October.  I read really quickly, but to say that I read infrequently is a gross understatement.  Gross.

I’ve been reading “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp.  I’m not a book reviewer.  Far from it.  To be truthful, I’m sure you’d need to read far more than 2-3 books per year to be an efficient reviewer anyway.  At any rate, I’m halfway through the book so I can’t give a stellar account of my thoughts/feelings/whatevs, but I’m thoroughly impressed, and I’m greatly enjoying the message.  If you’ve not read it, it’s all about Voskamp’s realization that continual gratefulness truly can lead to joy in all aspects of your life.  Giving thanks to God for everything, in everything….. all the time.

Easy?  No.  Far from it.  Every human instinct we have is to tend toward ungratefulness and to whine and complain.  And I’m not exempt from that tendency.

But the point I’m driving at here is that I’d like to experiment with my own list…. Voskamp was dared to keep a list of 1000 things she truly cherishes and for which she’s thankful.  As she’s going through the list – writing, recording, journaling her list of things that she’s grateful for, she begins to find it easier and easier to find joy in the little things.  She begins to see more and more things that she CAN be thankful for.  And when tragedy hits, she finds she is able to see the good in the situation, as hard as that is.

I want that.  I want to be that grateful for everything I have.  I mean, really… when you really break it down, look at things objectively… even subjectively!  Who can’t find something to be grateful for?  Anything?  Start small!  Start with things like sunshine.  Who doesn’t love sunshine!?  Or… rain… if you don’t actually like sunshine.

So I’ll start.

1.  Camp Kahquah – being here was met with some mega fixed feelings this summer, but I’m here now, and there’s definitely good in it.

2. hearing worship carry through the floor, the doors, the air… as 85 10-13 year olds lift their voices up and sing to Jesus

3. dinner out with the fam – and the best Pina Colada I have EVER had.  Thank you, Tanner’s in Magnetawan!  Who knew?

4. running in the quiet stillness of 7am in Northern Ontario.  Hearing the creatures… as much as that’s equal parts creepy and amazing.

5. 32% humidity.  That needs no explanation.

These are just a few of the things that I really want to highlight today.  So I’m at 5.

Will you journey with me to 1000?

Leave a Reply

