“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”


Tonight, I’m laying on my bed, contemplating rain.  I have a headache.  I have had one off and on all day.  It was my day off, and I had great plans for all the things I was going to accomplish.  I did one of them.  No, 2… but still.  I’m whiny, I’m kind of grumpy.  I’m exhausted – my face shows it, my eyes show it.  I had a good friend that I don’t see often leave Camp today, and I won’t see her for a while again, and it’s always sad when that happens, so I’m a little mopey to boot.

But it’s raining.

It’s been a long time since I’ve seen rain.  It’s been rare this year to see any type of precipitation… and the ground shows it.  I can’t recall ever going this long without significant rainfall.  I haven’t seen rain in at least three weeks.  It’s been long enough that I don’t totally remember the last time.  I think it rained when I was in Ottawa…. so about three weeks ago.  I know it’s been considerably longer at home.  The ground is parched.

My life is parched.

Tonight as I was heading to bed I was reminded of a quote I have seen many times, but saw most recently in the art section at Wal Mart last week while in North Bay.  “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass.  It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”  It struck me today that that’s pretty much what this journey of gratitude is all about.  I’m not supposed to wait until I’m not grumpy, until I’m not whiny, until I’m not exhausted, until I’m not a little mopey.  I’m not supposed to wait until the rain has passed to get out and have fun.  I’m supposed to enjoy the moment regardless.  I’m supposed to give thanks regardless.  I’ve struggled with that the last few days.  I don’t know why.  Maybe because I was starting to see joy so somewhere, someone thought “hey that’s not good” and brought me back to ‘reality?’  I don’t know.

But I’m thirsty, and I want this… and I want to dance in the rain.  So here’s my sad attempt at finding joy despite whiny grumpiness, exhaustion, and a tinge of sadness.

23.  Light rain on a tin roof.

24.  Rain.  How it refreshes and gives life back.  How it’s so very badly needed.

25.  C.S. Lewis’ poignant truths wrapped in phenomenal storytelling.

26. Sticky buns — sweet, sugary, cinnamony, buttery deliciousness.

27.  “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass.  It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

28.  Warm breezes blowing clothes dry on the line.

Leave a Reply

