Crashing from a High


I’m coming down off of a Major Camp High…. for those of you who have no idea what that means, I’ll try to explain.  You go away for a while to somewhere where you’re immersed in Jesus, and all things related, and worship, and you’re just surrounded by people with a desire to serve God and love God and love others because of God’s love for them…. and it makes you want to be like that too.  It’s quite a fantastic feeling.

It happens regularly post youth retreats, post conferences, and in my case this year…. post Camp.  I had such a good summer at Camp this year, even despite myself, that it’s hard not to see God in it.  I find it impossible actually.  How much I’ve grown, changed, improved, become a slightly different and more grown up version of me this summer… it’s all a result of how much I saw of God at Camp this summer.

I attribute a lot of that to having had my eyes opened to the need for joy (and the way to achieve it — thankfulness) by reading Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts, but I sincerely believe that God got a hold of in other ways this summer, too.  Not just by reading a book, though I don’t diminish the impact that has had on me, and the impact it has on others.

But the problem with this Camp High thing, is that you always come down from it.  It’s just like a sugar or caffeine rush, and trust me, I’m not stranger at all to either of those.  You come crashing back down when you’re no longer in that spot.  And, I strongly believe, the Devil and all his minions go after you because you’re not in a place they want you.  They want you half asleep, not really seeing God around you.  Well I don’t want to be like that!  But today is the first time I picked up my Gifts journal since I got back on Sunday, and that scares me a little bit.

I’m going to have to be much more intentional about the time I spend with God when there are no Staff Devos and there’s no Chapel, and I’m not on Worship team every single morning.  It’s a lot harder to do when it’s not right in front of you.

I have a plan though, and it’s two-fold.  Hehe… I like “two-fold..”….. I would really like to get back into working out.  I slacked hardcore in that department this summer, and the results were immediate.  I put on almost 15 pounds in 8 weeks.  Not cool!  So… I need to eat better and continue exercising, and not just for myself, but because my body is not mine but God’s, and I am merely a steward of it.  So if I’m not taking care of it properly, I’m not doing what God has asked of me.

I’d like to download past Meeting House sermons…. don’t know about The Meeting House?  Check it out!  www.themeetinghouse.com  And I’d like to listen to them while I work out… whenever that time happens to work best in my schedule once I get back into a regular routine… and once I have my weights and my gazelle back.  They’re in a storage unit until Saturday when I get the rest of my stuff.  I think it’s a good plan, but, can I stick to it?  Can I combat the crash of the Camp High by staying in touch with God?  I haven’t been able to achieve much success in this department in the past…. so…. here’s hoping!  Here’s praying… that God will keep drawing me in and not let me forget.

On that note, I have so so much to be thankful for today.  Here it is:

170.  Final swims for the summer that last an hour and a half.

171. Smooth, SAFE trips home.

172. My pooch — sad to see her so depressed at the end of each summer because I take her away from the bush and my Mom’s two dogs, but her loyalty and love are amazing, and so necessary in my life.

173.  Hospitality in old friends.

174.  Girl talk at midnight.

175.  New pillows!

176.  My hair no longer touches my eyeballs.

177.  Hair grows back (I wasn’t very pleased with my hair trim… I was looking for a silver lining.  The bangs have settled now, and don’t look like I cut them myself with safety scissors like they did Sunday.  Bonus!)

178. Smooth house sale closures.

179. Generosity in the previous owners…. FREE FUTON!

180.  Walks by the river… the view pales in comparison to Camp’s, but it’s still lovely.

181. The way Kloe loves to explore.

182. When Kloe chases her tail.

183. Running into students in Dollarama and having them be excited to see me.  It makes all the politics worth it.

184. Conquering fears and solving my own problems — I had the biggest bee I’ve EVER seen in my living room this afternoon… not knowing what else to do with it, I sucked it up with the vacuum cleaner and emptied the dust cup outside… It looked me right in the eye after I let it go.  I think, if it could talk, it’d tell me to watch my back, but… it’s not in the house, so the crisis is averted…….. for now.

185. The excitement in picking paint colours.

186. Flowers that can survive a drought.

I’m pretty sure these are weeds, but they’re still really pretty, and still went most of a summer with no water…

 

All photos taken by me on my Motorola Charm.

2 thoughts on “Crashing from a High

  1. I’ve got your back 😉 haha but for real, it’s seriously depressing watching the scale slowly move up after all that hard work. LAME. I know I’ve just got buckle done and DO IT.

    Sidenote: I like the blue and gray paint chips! And I love Kloe. And YES, audio sermons/books are fantastic for running 🙂 I used to find one that was about 45 minutes and I’d listen to it alll the way through. Here’s hoping a bit more routine with school helps us both and that we can encourage each other.

    P.S. I have Made to Crave for you.

    • Not just blue and grey… but blue, gray, and lime green! Basement will be epic. Also… I just spelled grey/gray two different ways in the same sentence.

      I would love to read Made to Crave! Next time we’ll see each other, can you bring it??

Leave a Reply

