165 Miles to Savannah… 165 Miles….


So I’m on a road trip.

I’m with my Mom.  We decided it’d be a FABULOUS idea to DRIVE from Southern Ontario to Savannah, Georgia.  Over 2 days.  Crashing in Virginia for one night.  Fun times.
Well, it was QUITE fun.  We stopped in Spotsylvania County in Virginia for the first night, and I decided, being stupid tired by that point, and since we were nearly out of gas, that if we ran out of gas and had to walk to the hotel, the Spotsylvanians would eat us alive.

Day 2’s highlights were twofold.  First, we stopped at THE CHEEZIEST tourist attraction I’ve EVER seen.  Pedro’s… in South Carolina, just inside the South Carolina border.  I think it’s actually called South of the Border.  This place is advertised for 200 miles as you drive South down I-95 S, and probably all the way from Florida going North.  Epically ridiculously cheezy, but so fun.  It was a nice break from the trip… and I have lots of pictures of me sitting on animals that I would never otherwise get to sit on (don’t worry, they were statues…)

Second, with about 165 miles to go until we hit Savannah, the road signs started telling us how many miles there were to go….. so we started singing… to the tune of 99 bottles of beer on a wall.  Well, let me tell you, it takes longer to drive a mile than it does to go through one verse of that song, and so there were silly additions as we sang.  Trust me.  Ridiculous.
Today, we hitched a ride into the City (we’re staying outside of it due to the fact that it is so much cheaper) on a trolley tour bus because we planned to take their tour so they offer free shuttles.  We met some lovely people from NYC, Boston, Florida, all over the place.  It was fun.  And then we rode around the Downtown of Savannah ALL DAY on a Trolley bus, getting on and off at will.
I have so many pictures already that it would make your brain hurt, but below I will feature the highlights.
More to follow, as tomorrow we hit up three museums, and Wednesday we do an Atlantic Ocean dolphin cruise, where we have been guaranteed to see Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins swimming alongside our boat… and even if not, we get a river tour of some historic forts, some lighthouses, and some of Georgia’s beautiful islands.  I’m stoked.

Here are the pictorial highlights so far:

Stop # 1 -- Canadian Tire in St. Catharines for an Oil Change.

Stop # 1 — Canadian Tire in St. Catharines for an Oil Change.

Artsy Passport Photos.

Artsy Passport Photos.

artsy map pic

artsy map pic

Coming up to the point on the QEW where we had to make a choice on bridges, I whipped out my iPhone, Googled "border wait times" and got the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission website... Guess which bridge we took!

Coming up to the point on the QEW where we had to make a choice on bridges, I whipped out my iPhone, Googled “border wait times” and got the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission website… Guess which bridge we took!

Cracker Barrel!!  Turns out... they materialize roughly every 20 miles.

Cracker Barrel!! Turns out… they materialize roughly every 20 miles.

This place is RIDICULOUSLY cheezy and touristy, but it was fun.  South of the Border was advertised for about 200 miles driving South down I-95.

This place is RIDICULOUSLY cheezy and touristy, but it was fun. South of the Border was advertised for about 200 miles driving South down I-95.

I like to call this..."Go Home Moose, You're DRUNK!  Why are you in South Carolina!?"  because it was the first thing we saw when we pulled into SOUTH of the Border.

“Go Home Moose, You’re DRUNK! Why are you in South Carolina!?” because it was the first thing we saw when we pulled into SOUTH of the Border.

Welcome to South Carolina!!  I took this one at the Welcome Center.

Welcome to South Carolina!! I took this one at the Welcome Center.

That's right, my arm was out the open window!

That’s right, my arm was out the open window!

Palm Trees!!!

Palm Trees!!!

South Carolina sunset.

South Carolina sunset.

Welcome to GEORGIA!!  I took this one, too!  (We stopped at the Welcome Centre)

Welcome to GEORGIA!! I took this one, too! (We stopped at the Welcome Centre)

FLOWERS!  With bloomed petals!

FLOWERS! With bloomed petals!

This is a fountain, dyed green for St. Patrick's Day this weekend.

This is a fountain, dyed green for St. Patrick’s Day this weekend.

So this is a McDonald's walk-up window.

So this is a McDonald’s walk-up window.

This house is pink, purple, and turquoise... I think because it wasn't in the historic district so these guys wanted to march to the beat of their own drum and be different.

This house is pink, purple, and turquoise… I think because it wasn’t in the historic district so these guys wanted to march to the beat of their own drum and be different.

Spanish Moss, which is neither Spanish nor moss.

Spanish Moss, which is neither Spanish nor moss.

This is the oldest building in Savannah (and Georgia), built in 1734 after the Colony was commissioned in 1733.

This is the oldest building in Savannah (and Georgia), built in 1734 after the Colony was commissioned in 1733.

Leave a Reply

