Perspective: My Love-Hate Relationship with Driving


Today’s WordPress Prompt asked us to talk about something that drives us crazy, and then something that makes us happy.  The end result should be finding out if the thing that makes us happy changes our perspective on the thing that drives us crazy.

To be truthful, I’m having trouble conceptualizing how I would link two completely different things together and see if one would change my perspective on the other.  For example, my initial thought was that centipedes drive me crazy…. because they do…. and that I love playing the violin… but I can’t come up with ANY way that loving to play the violin would make me ‘appreciate’ a centipede.  None.

I decided to take this spin on it:

Sometimes, other drivers drive me crazy.  This is not to say that I’ve never made a mistake driving, because I certainly have.  But yesterday morning, for example, I was cut off by a woman making a left turn out of a Tim Horton’s parking lot, and she just smiled and waved at me as she did it, as if I’d been nice and let her in.  I hadn’t, though I normally do if I can… but I didn’t have the space in this instance.  In fact, I had to slam on my brakes so hard to avoid slamming into her car as she did it, that the contents of my purse landed on the floor of the passenger side when it fell upside down off the seat.

BUT

The fact that I absolutely love driving, and the fact that I’m able to and have a car to do so in… it shifted my perspective a bit.  Well, more so than a violin can shift my perspective about centipedes…. I digress.

I love driving.  I love being able to go from place to place …. where I want to, when I want to… I can go see my parents.  I can leave town to go shopping.  I do what I want.  I do what I need to.  I can help others by doing the same… going where is needed.  My car is in good shape, it’s pretty fuel efficient, and being a hatchback, it has phenomenal trunk space when the back seats are folded down.

Perspective Shift:  As much as other peoples’ bad driving habits drive me crazy sometimes, as I’m sure my bad habits drive others crazy…. As much as that is true… I am so thankful that I have a car, that I’m able to drive, and that I can do so freely.

The end.

5 thoughts on “Perspective: My Love-Hate Relationship with Driving

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Perspective | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: My idea is that perspective is a tool . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: It drives me crazy… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. I also have a love/hate relationship with driving. I hate dealing with traffic/other drivers, however, I love driving on the country roads when no one is around. I’m going to a concert tonight and driving to the city will be fun but once I get into the city, the fun will go away and will be replaced by stress when I have to deal with the heavy traffic. The concert will be fun once I get there but I’m not sure if I will be able to get there in one piece. I leave in an hour so I guess I’ll find out soon.

Leave a Reply

