Skinny Jeans and my very first friend.


Some nights I feel like the prompts to write with are icky, and I don’t want to write anything about them, nor do I feel like I have anything to say.  Some nights I’ve wandered off the ‘prompt’ path and I’ve written my own stuff.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that; I’m not trying to justify myself to any of you.  Today though (well, and yesterday), the prompts were great!  So I’ve chosen to tackle two of them.  Both are BlogHer NaBloPoMo prompts, not WordPress prompts… which is also a bit of a new thing for me.  Today I will be writing today’s and yesterday’s BlogHer prompts.

Today’s asks us to “Describe an outfit that makes you feel good. (It can be from any period of your life.) Double points if you post a picture of yourself in the outfit.”  I chose….. a very current outfit.  I may or may not have bought it on Saturday.  You see, at the moment, I am a plus-sized woman.  I have been most of my adult life.  There was a brief stint in there where I wasn’t, but even then, I still felt like I was too… um… solid…….. to pull off skinny jeans.  In my opinion, they were named ‘skinny’ jeans for a reason.  Then I see girls in skinny jeans and boots, and not all of them are super skinny, and that’s completely ok, and they all look really good!  It’s a really classy look!

I tried to buy skinny jeans once before.  In the spring, I was in Wal Mart looking for dress pants and came home instead with a pair of aqua blue skinny jeans.  Well, they don’t fit great (not sure what I was expecting, shopping at Wal-Mart), and it’s hard to match clothes with them…. shocker…. so I don’t wear them very often at all, and I should probably give them away.

I gave into the sad fact this week that I am in fact a plus-sized gal once again.  I haven’t been for about three years, but the style of clothes I’ve been wearing those past three years are simply not looking nice on me at present.  While I don’t plan to remain a plus-sized gal, because I miss my size 10 and 12 jeans, I think there’s something to be said for dressing for the size that you are instead of what you want to look like or where you hope to get.  As a result of this acceptance…. I walked into Pennington’s for the first time in three years.  For those of you who aren’t lucky enough to live in the glorious land of Canada, Pennington’s is a plus-sized women’s clothing store.  Check them out.  Apparently they ship to the US, so…. shop happy.  Warning:  it isn’t cheap.  To be fair, though, cheap clothing never lasts very long, and I find especially with plus-sized clothing, if it’s cheaply made, it fits terribly.  At this point, I was willing to pay full price for something I could feel good in.  Though… I only technically paid full price for the jeans (I got two pairs… skinny jeggings are my new favourite thing….).  The tops I bought were all on sale, and the amazing wide-calf boots were 50% off.

I found my search was completed in the skinny jeans/high-heeled boot/long, flowy top combination.  I feel amazing in this outfit, and even though I weigh a solid 50 pounds more than I’d like to (or more), I feel like I look good in this.  If you disagree, feel free to keep that to yourself, as I will not be approving your comment 😉

Apparently I get bonus points for posting a picture…. what can I use my bonus points toward??

photo 1(1)photo 2(1)

My First Friend

The other prompt that I thought I should cover is today’s.  Write about my first friend.  For her privacy, we’ll call her Jenny.

I lived across the street from Jenny for a long time.  We were in Junior and Senior Kindergarten together, as well as Grade 1.  We played all the time.  ALL.  THE.  TIME.  We got in trouble together a few times, too…. especially the time we took off without telling our Moms where we went so we could go to the roof of a friend’s apartment building and try to save what we thought was a pregnant, dead frog…. we didn’t realize at the time that frogs lay eggs, not give birth, and so the pregnant-looking tummy was actually postmortem bloat, not pregnancy.  Nevertheless, we tried our hardest to save those baby frogs inside that tummy with tongue depressors.  In hindsight, I am SO GLAD we heard our Moms looking for us before we pressed on that postmortem bloat too hard………

After Grade 1, my parents informed me that we were moving.  25 minutes away from Jenny, into the country.  Where it stunk.  Really badly.  I cried for weeks.  We moved in and settled, and I cried for a few more weeks.  Sure, our parents would drive us to see each other every once in a while, but nothing compared to living across the street from each other.

Through elementary school, we still hung out as often as our parents would drive us to see each other… we’d spend March Breaks and weekends at each others’ houses.  We made the best of it.  By junior high, we’d spend hours and hours on the phone, just catching up on life.

By high school though, we were different people.  We had different sets of friends and we got busy lives.  We drifted apart.  We’re friends on Facebook now, and when we run into each other it’s great to catch up.  It doesn’t happen very often since I moved an hour and a half away from home, but still.

I think our first friend is a really important person in our lives.  They help teach us how to love someone other than our family.  The saying friends are family you choose for yourself is a really valid one, I think.  Even though Jenny and I are no longer close by any stretch, I would like to think that the years I spent being friends with her have helped shape me into who I am today.

8 thoughts on “Skinny Jeans and my very first friend.

  1. So I realize I haven’t seen you in person in a while, and you’ve lost and gained and lost a bunch of weight since then … and as I’m not a plus sized girl, and I haven’t really had any weight issues that weren’t 110% in my head, I might not be the best person to say this … but I’m going to : as being a plus sized girl, and based on your new jeans photo, only means you have a medium to large bone structure, and a healthy (not like “healthy portion” aka large healthy, but like … not anorexic healthy) and reasonable amount of body fat. I like your new outfit, good choice.

  2. Love that top you’re wearing in that photo. I’ve never worn skinny jeans, especially since I got that ‘contented cow’ look in my old age. 😀 Probably won’t at this point. LOL

    1. haha thanks! ‘contented cow’ …. that’s a new one… though I’m sure it’s not true. I find I’m my own very worst critic, and I need to ease up on myself.

      The skinny jeans are actually jeggings, so they’re elastic waisted and just gathered at the calf/ankles… and they are the most comfortable thing I’ve ever worn. And the bottoms don’t drag on the ground when it’s raining! Score!

Leave a Reply

