How to Free a Sex Slave


unnamed2

So this picture speaks for itself here.  January is Human Trafficking Awareness Month….

And if you’re anything like me, the idea that there are children being sold into slavery and sex work, not just in other parts of this world, but also all around us… that idea makes you want to vomit, and you feel really helpless.

Just over a year ago, a friend of mine introduced me to The Exodus Road, and informed me that they were looking for bloggers.  Naturally, I jumped on that chance… and here I am.  I’m sharing information with you today about what it takes to free a sex slave.

Matt and Laura Parker, who both work for The Exodus Road, wrote an article together for Relevant Magazine about what the process is like to get a sex slave out of their awful situation.  I encourage you to read the entire article.  It’s powerful.  You’ll have to create a Relevant account to read to the end, but it’s worth it.  Do it.

Here are two excerpts that really hit me:

“For the criminals, any arrest or prosecution is disruptive. Legal fees, jail time and loss of business make the sale of humans a less lucrative trade. Regardless of the verdicts, raids and arrests send a message to the local community that sexual slavery is not acceptable. When we apply pressure to the trafficking mechanisms from a legal standpoint, we slowly force modern-day slavery into the category of higher risk and lower reward. This is potentially one of the greatest steps we can make as a community fighting this injustice.”

“Every day, I find myself wishing that rescuing a sex slave was a simple, inexpensive, quick process. But it isn’t. It might take a village to raise a child, but it takes an entire army to free one.

So here it is… please read this.  Because I can’t say it any better than this. (click the picture)

unnamed6

Also, possibly of note to you:  The Exodus Road has signed a band called Remedy Drive as their first artist.  I’d never heard of them before, but I checked out their website and gave their stuff a listen, and I have to say I liked what I heard.  I encourage you to check it out.

unnamed5

And finally, a few quotes to let you reflect on the heaviness of this situation (geeky side note:  Anything said by Abraham Lincoln has to be worth its weight in gold, right?):

unnamed4 unnamed3 unnamed

One thought on “How to Free a Sex Slave

  1. Pingback: Sunday Soul Search | Not Just A Stay At Home Mom

Leave a Reply

