Every Bride Needs a Groom


I just finished reading Every Bride Needs a Groom by Janice Thompson.  I have to admit, when I read the premise of the book I was quite excited.  (Check out the book here for the full book jacket teaser.)  The main character, Katie Fisher — she sounds like a girl after my own heart — one with her entire wedding planned before it’s a good idea at all.  (I try to play it out like I haven’t done that, haha, but… um… don’t look at my Pinterest boards?)

As I started reading the book though, I was struck by how easily I felt I could predict the ending.  I admit though, while I thought that fact would make me want to stop reading the book, it didn’t at all.  Instead, it made me want to race to the finish to see if I was right.  I found at the beginning of the book I was annoyed with Katie, perhaps because I see in myself a tendency to jump the gun a bit and we tend to be annoyed by what we are.  But I digress.

I fell in love with the characters, and the story was well crafted.  I really enjoyed that the book was narrated in first-person, and Janice Thompson’s writing style so perfectly portrayed a Southern girl that I read the entire thing with a Southern accent in my head (not that I claim to be an expert or anything, being Canadian and only ever having spent 1 week in Savannah…. but oh well).

I will likely be interested in reading book 2 of the Brides with Style series when it comes out in October 2015, because I find I really want to know what happens to the characters.  Aunt Alva and Queenie were my favourite, but you’ll have to read the book to find out why 🙂

 

Have you read it?  What did you think?

Leave a Reply

