Finding Me


Oh, how I loved this book.  With all of my heart, I loved this book.

All her life, Kelli Huddleston has been told the story of a fire — a fire that killed her mother and two siblings as an infant.  After her father’s death, though, she uncovers evidence of a different story, including clippings about a boat accident that killed a young father and his infant daughter.  And Kelli quietly realizes the story of her life has been a fiction.

Armed with only a few pictures of what she thinks might be her family, Kelli crosses the country to Tennessee, determined to uncover the truth about what happened over twenty years ago in a small southern town.  When the trip threatens to open the doors to the past better left shut, and her plans for the future are jeopardized, Kelli is faced with an agonizing choice that will change her life forever.

I smiled, I laughed, I worried, I cried.  Books don’t tend to send me on emotional swinging rides, but my goodness, did this one ever.  It’s a brilliant drama, masterfully told by Kathryn Cushman, and I can’t recommend it enough.  Normally, I don’t read a book again after I’ve finished it, but I think I’m going to hang onto this one and read it again.

I loved the writing.  I loved the character development.  I loved the ending.  If you’re looking for a great story, I highly recommend that you pick up this book.

 

Leave a Reply

