Simply Tuesday | A Book Review


Oh, how I love this book.  I do.  It’s a breath of fresh air that my soul needs.  There’s a brilliance to this book that I didn’t expect.  It’s SIMPLY refreshing (get it? :p), and it’s what my soul needs in this moment, when I’m tempted to go build a city rather than find a bench. (I know that probably doesn’t make sense to you right now, but by the end of Chapter 1, it will, and you’ll thank Emily P. Freeman for it)

I find it funny that each book I read that is not a novel, it seems that I put off reading them.  I put them off just long enough that they seem to hit me right when I need them.  It’s like my procrastination pays off in the form of soul food!

Emily P. Freeman walks her readers on a journey toward finding solace in feeling small by highlighting the life of Jesus and all kinds of personal anecdotes that can make us just stop and rest in the Spirit, even on Tuesdays, our most ordinary day — which can build habits for the rest of our weeks.

My soul is restless right now, for a great many reasons, and Emily’s book is reminding me to just take a breath.

I highly encourage you to read it, as her writing mixes a healthy stir of poignant anecdotes, humorous quips, scripture references, and deep thoughts to make you go “hmmm.”

Will you do your soul a favour?  Will you slow down long enough to pick up this book?  I’m glad I did.

From the back cover

Is your soul being held hostage by hustle?

If you’ve grown weary of do more and dream bigger, small-moment living is just what you need. Real life happens in the small moments we find on the most ordinary day of the week. Tuesday holds secrets we can’t see in a hurry–secrets not just for our schedules but for our souls. In Simply Tuesday, Emily P. Freeman shows you how to

· embrace today’s work
· find contentment in the now
· replace competition with connection
· learn to breathe in a breathless world

This review was written in exchange for the book in association with Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. and Revell Publishing.  I am not required to write positive reviews.

Leave a Reply

