Sea Rose Lane


This is not my first Irene Hannon book.  This is not my first Hope Harbour series book.  In fact, if I’m being honest, the plot line of this book didn’t truly appeal to me when I read the synopsis, but knowing that I’d loved Hope Harbour — the first book in this series — so much, I thought I’d best give it a shot.  I hoped that the main characters from the first book, Tracy and Michael, would make appearances in this installment and I’d get to catch up with them a little bit, too.

I have to say, as much as I wasn’t thrilled with the plot synopsis, I did end up loving the book.  It’s a beautiful story, crafted expertly by Irene Hannon, about two people who need to start their lives over, and both end up doing so in the tiny town of Hope Harbour on the Pacific Coast.

Two people starting over . . . in a town known for second chances

After a devastating layoff, attorney Eric Nash heads back to Hope Harbor–only to discover that his childhood home is being transformed into a bed and breakfast. Instead of plotting his next career move in peace, he’s constantly distracted by noise, chaos–and BJ Stevens, the attractive but prickly blonde architect who’s invaded the house with her motley crew. As for BJ, her client’s son might be handsome, but after a disastrous romance, dating isn’t high on her agenda. Yet when they join forces for to help Hope Harbor seniors, might they also find healing, hope, and a new beginning themselves?

Come home to Hope Harbor–where hearts heal . . . and love blooms

If you’ve read the first Hope Harbour book, you’ll know that Charley is always an endearing character as well, and I was thrilled to find that he’d returned to continue to offer his pearls of wisdom to those who didn’t even know they needed them.

In this book, you’ll love the way Eric and BJ meet, and you’ll love the transformation they go through, learning to lean into God’s plan and trust their hearts to lead them again.

I read this book while bouncing from youth hostel to youth hostel on a road trip of Ireland in the last week and a half, and I have to say that it was an excellent distraction from the annoyance that Youth Hostels apparently provide non-stop.  But that’s another post 😉

I highly recommend this book, and if a 2-book streak is to be believed, I also highly recommend Irene Hannon!  Have you read any other of her books?  What do you think?

9780800727543

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Leave a Reply

