Justice Delayed


I really enjoyed this book, for the most part.  I’d never read a Patricia Bradley book before, and I always enjoy testing out the waters with new authors.  I’ll also rarely turn down what sounds to be a good, suspenseful mystery/crime procedural novel.

Bradley crafted characters that, while likeable, I did find hard to relate to, but then — I’ve never found my life enveloped in the folds of an 18-year old murder case that, with days left to spare before an execution date for the confessed murderer, reveals that they caught the wrong guy.

I’ll confess that I found the plot took a while longer than I typically like to pick up and really hook me, but once it did I couldn’t stop.  I wound up needing many of the details that had been left out to keep me in suspense, and I read the majority of the book over the last couple days that I was working on it.

Overall, I recommend the book.  It was a good read, though admittedly it wasn’t one I plowed through as I have with others.  It would be a good vacation or beach/cottage read, for sure.  I found that I was a bit too busy during the course of a regular school year setting to find it intriguing enough to sacrifice everything else I needed to accomplish to read it quickly.  That said, it was good and I recommend it 🙂

It’s been eighteen years since TV crime reporter Andi Hollister’s sister was murdered. The confessed killer is behind bars, and the execution date is looming. But when a letter surfaces stating that the condemned killer didn’t actually do it, Detective Will Kincaide of the Memphis Cold Case Unit will stop at nothing to help Andi get to the bottom of it. After all, this case is personal: the person who confessed to the crime is Will’s cousin. They have less than a week to find the real killer before the wrong person is executed. But much can be accomplished in that week–including uncovering police corruption, running for your life, and falling in love.

 

30259138

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

 

Leave a Reply

